We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.


by Nick Martin

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      €9 EUR  or more


  • Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    Beautiful black double vinyl with cover art by Niina Lehtonen Braun. Edition limited to 100 copies.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Separation via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 5 days

      €27 EUR or more 




Hovering between worlds, Nick Martin is a composer/musician/singer who no matter what he turns his attention to strives for a naked emotional honesty and a search for the spiritual. His music is sensitive, often filled with a melancholic longing, and within a single piece can range from intimate solo synth to lush orchestral textures and choir arrangements. He grew up playing and studying classical music, though has always had his heart in the mountains and forests filled with birdsong and folk music. Over the past ten years, he has slowly fallen into the borderlands where musical wildflowers grow out of the cracks in traditions. Martin has made his home in Copenhagen, where he established the group ‘Thou Art a Vessel’, which comprises musicians and singers from folk, jazz, classical and Armenian traditions.

‘Separation’ is Nick Martin’s debut record, a double LP, comprising music written and recorded over a four year span, begun whilst living in Finland, and completed in Denmark, the music maps a journey through a dark period in Martin’s life. The record is divided into two collections, ‘Fatherland’ and ‘Matres’, which form a work that is symphonic in scale and range of emotion.



released June 27, 2018

Fatherland musicians:
Prophet 12 & electronics - Nick Martin
Choir - Hanne Marie le Fevre, Jakob Skjoldborg, Lauritz Jakob Thomsen, Richard Låås, Nicolai Elsberg
Trombone - Andras Spang Olsen

Matres musicians:
Duduk - Arsen Petrosyan
Vocals - Ania Rybacka, Lo Ersare, Hanne Marie le Fevre
Viola - Mikkel Schreiber
Viola da gamba - Nicole Hogstrand
Piano, prophet 12 & electronics - Nick Martin

'You left me, sweet' by Emily Dickinson - used on the track ‘I’m Sorry’
'If Only I Could Touch' by John Martin,
‘You, darkness’ by Rainer Maria Rilke, translated by Robert Bly - used on the track ‘Mother Night’

Recording sessions on 15th August 2017 (Fatherland) and on 29th & 30th January 2018 (Matres),
in Koncertkirken, Copenhagen
Recording engineering by Peter Helms
All tracks mixed by Nick Martin, except for ‘If Only I Could Touch’ which was mixed by Søren Stenager
Mastered by Vagn Larsen
Executive producing by Tomo Jacobson / Gotta Let It Out
All music by Nick Martin

Cover artwork by Niina Lehtonen Braun
Graphic design by Malte Fischer
Photo on back cover by Malin Annie Johansen

Supported by: Koda; Minister Erna Hamilton’s Legat for Videnskab og Kunst; Dansk Komponist Forening; Sonic Festival : Filip Melo & Gunnar Karel; Koncertkirken : Björn Ross; Gotta Let It Out : Tomo Jacobson & Malwa Grabowska


Released by Gotta Let It Out in 2018


all rights reserved



Gotta Let It Out Copenhagen, Denmark

Gotta Let It Out is an independent music label and a publishing house.
It was established in 2017 in Copenhagen by the musician Tomo Jacobson and the photo/video artist Malwa Grabowska aka. Hipermania.

We are proudly genre-less. We leave full creative control to the artists. What binds our releases is genuity, true expression, and freedom to explore. Our artists say, they simply Gotta Let It Out.
... more

contact / help

Contact Gotta Let It Out

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Separation, you may also like: